In the framework of its comprehensive approach, the European Union launched their police mission in Afghanistan on 15th of June 2007. EUPOL Afghanistan followed Germany in the lead concerning the police reform and builds on the efforts of the EU Member States and other international actors in the field of police and the rule of law. In May 2013, the Council of the European Union has extended the EUPOL Mission’s mandate until 31 December 2014.




The aim of the mission is to contribute to the establishment of sustainable and effective civil policing arrangements that will ensure appropriate interaction with the wider criminal justice system under Afghan ownership. More particularly, the mission monitors, mentors, advises and trains at the level of the Afghan Ministry of Interior, Afghan Ministry of Justice, Afghan Attorney General's Office and regions and provinces. Further the Mission will support the reform process towards a trusted and efficient police service, which works in accordance with international standards, within the framework of the rule of law and respect human rights.

EUPOL Tasks and Strategic Objectives


  • Support the implementation of the National Police Strategy, especially with a view to the Afghan Uniformed Civilian Police and the Afghan Anti-Crime
    Police and the institutional development of the Ministry of Interior.
  • Contribute to the establishment of a proactive, intelligence-led police force with an appropriate command, control and communication structure that
    addresses corruption and respects human rights and gender aspects.
  • Support the development of criminal investigation capability, including for international cooperation in criminal matters.
  • Address the linkages to the wider rule of law allowing an efficient penal process, particularly the police-prosecutor link.
  • Within the remit of the Mission, streamline and coordinate the international contributions in the field of police reform, especially through the International Police Coordination Board.

Strategic Objectives:

The strategic objectives of EUPOL are the vehicle to achieve the Mission’s goal.

  1. Develop police command, control and communications for the Ministry of Interior and the Afghan National Police
  2. Develop intelligence-led policing
  3. Build the capabilities of the Criminal Investigations Department
  4. Develop anti-corruption capacities
  5. Improve cooperation and coordination between Police and Judiciary, with a particular emphasis on prosecutors
  6. Mainstream gender and Human Rights aspects within the Ministry of Interior and Afghan National Police.

Starting Date:
End Date:
Head of Mission:
Current Mission strength:
Mission budget:
Contributing member states:

15 June 2007
31 December 2014
Karl Åke Roghe 
284 international staff and 198 local staff
EUR 108 Million (for the period of 01 June 2013 – End of 2014)
24 EU Member States